2015 Results

Round Saltspring 2015: Baaad Kitty! Owns the Podium


Counter-Clockwise was the Call

The Race Committee announced that the Course would be counter-clockwise. A few competitors were scratching their heads and wondering what RC knew that they did not. Perhaps the locals knew that the winds would be such that boats would take their timing getting around and would approach Sansum Narrows around the turn from flood to ebb. It worked out perfectly with many reporting that the current was with them all the way around, even if the wind was not. Left: Baaad Kitty! (Maggie Argiro photo)

race-startAfter some concern about the wind at the start, the breeze filled in from the east to about 6 knots, making an interesting reaching start. The racer/cruisers went first in 4 Divisions. After a short interval the sportboats were unleashed to overtake them. Left: The Start (Maggie Argiro photo).

Snakes and Ladders

All boats got away in good order with enough wind to get out of Ganges Harbour and into Trincomali Channel. At noon, the first boats were approaching Fernwood, but the wind had eased and positions were changing rapidly as a series of zephyrs forced a game of snakes and ladders. The bigger boats seemed to get on a ladder and the smaller boats a snake as a big gap opened up between them.

rss-weekend-6At 2 pm the leaders were at Vesuvius and by 4 pm 50% of the fleet had passed by as the RC watched and ate fish & chips. The series of wind changes around the top of the island had allowed the  gap to be closed somewhat. But the changes also caused tactical decisions that ended badly with one boat coming too close to the south end of Wallace Island and another getting mixed up with Grappler Rock. Both had to withdraw for a date with the boatyard. Right: Rounding Southey Point (Keiko Taylor photo)

heading for croftonThe wind shifted direction off Vesuvius, which further mixed up the placings just as the current turned and swept the boats down Sansum Narrows. But the snakes and ladders continued with several wind holes at the south end of the island for the fleet to contend with. Left: Heading for Vesuvius (Philippe Erdmer photo).

caliente-near-finishA strong southeasterly in Captain Passage saw the fleet ride spinnakers all the way to the finish with the leaders finishing around between 7 and 8 pm, most boats finishing before dark, and all but a few finishing before midnight. Right: Caliente for the Finish (Bob Troyer photo)

With the snakes and ladders, there was not enough pressure to allow the bigger boats to open the gap on the smaller competitors. And the places where zephyrs took the place of breeze meant that the lighter boats had an advantage. The larger and heavier boats did not gain enough advantage to overcome handicaps and results favoured the smaller and quicker. (Aerial photos above by Maggie Argiro with helicopter support courtesy of Don Arney.)

Click here to see lots more photos on our Flickr page. 

Line Honours

line-honoursThe honour of the fastest boat around was shared by Richard Ackrill’s Dragonfly from Royal Victoria YC, the multi-hull in a race of its own, and Jason Rhodes’ Valkyrie the newly named and re-jigged TP52 from Royal Vancouver YC. Right: Dragonfly Passes the Mark (Gail Beattie photo)

Overall Winners

Back on the top place on the Podium, and winner of the Marshall Sharp Trophy was 2013 champion Ben Powers’ Baaad Kitty! (below), the Henderson 30 sailing for Royal Victoria YC. (Maggie Argiro photo)

first-place-baaad-kittySecond place (below) went to speedy Ogopogo, a Left Coast Dart owned by Paul Faget from Port Madison YC. (Maggie Argiro photo)

second-place-ogopogoIn third place was Seth Amirault’s Tripp 40 Lexi Belle (below) from Royal Victoria YC. (Maggie Argiro photo)

third-place-lexi-belleWinner of the Round Saltspring Trophy (below) for first Saltspring Island Sailing Club boat to finish was Ole Anderson’s Caliente.  (Maggie Argiro photo)

doug-thomas-trophy-calienteDivision Results

1 Baaad Kitty!
Ben Power
Lexi Belle
Seth Amirault
Ron Jewula
2 Swish
Fraser McMillan
Richard Stewart
Paul Shaw
3 Ogopogo
Paul Faget
Optical Illustion
Tim Daniel
Thursday’s Child
Ben Rummen
4 Avalanche
Kelly Penney
Ernie Chatham
Jason Vandergaag
5 Terna III
Bill Kitchen
Rick Wunderlich
Blue Shift
Ron Turner
6 Runaway Girl
Richard Simpson
Matt Law
Roger Kibble
7 Pitoraq
Graham Heath
Anthony Zegers
Southern Comfort
Ryan Gough


Click Here for 2015 Results by Division

Click Here for 2015 Results by Corrected Time

UK Sails Team Challenge

This Team Challenge, sponsored by UK Sailmakers Northwest, takes combined scores of three boats in different divisions entered from the same club, and awards the winning team a set of dinghy sails for their club’s Junior program.

The 2015 UK Challenge was won by Nanaimo Yacht Club, who entered the team of Lawndart, Optical Illusion, and Runaway Girl.