2016 Racing Calendar

Saltspring Island Sailing Club

2016 Racing Calendar

Key:

Format: NFS No Flying Sails
Format: RH Reverse Handicap
Format: SH Single-handed
Note: KC Kibble Cup race
Note: IOM International One Metre event
Note: VIRS Vancouver Island Racing Series event

The racing events for 2016 have been divided up into three series of races that are counted toward the Total Points. Other races are “just for fun”. Actually, all races are just for fun. Some just don’t have points associated with them.

Each series has two throw outs. The Kibble Cup 5-race series now has one throw out.

  • SISC events are in BLACK
  • Regional (“big” boat) events are in VIOLET
  • IOM (“little” boat) events are in RED
  • Non-club events whose dates remain unverified have their titles underlined
  • Kibble Cup races (other than RSS) have their titles in black with a yellow background

 

Race Date Date end Start Time Limit Format Series Race number Alt. Series Sponsor Club Distance Course
Hot Rum Race Fri, Jan 1 10:30 NFS SISC Course TBD at Skippers’ meeting
Ben Mohr Rock Sun, Jan 17 10:30 15:00 A 1 SISC 9 St – Ben Mohr (P) – Fin
Ground Hog Day Sun, Jan 31 12:30 16:00 RH A 2 SISC 6.6 St – Batt Rock (P) – Welbury Spar (P) – Fin
Channel Islands Sun, Feb 14 10:30 18:00 A 3 SISC 14.6 St – Batt Rock (P) – Welbury Spar (S) – Channel Isles (P) – Welbury Spar (P) – Batt Rock (S) – Fin
All-club Boyz Cruze Sat, Feb 20 Mon, Feb 22 Various
SISC Winter Craze Leg 1 Sat, Feb 20 10:30 SISC St (Peile Point) – Prevost Is (S) – Razor Pt
SISC Winter Craze Leg 2 Sun, Feb 21 10:30 SISC St (Razor Pt) – Prevost Is (S) – Fin
Walker Rock Sun, Feb 28 9:30 18:30 A 4 KC SISC 17.5 St – Welbury Spar (P) – Walker Rock (P) – Governor’s Rock (P) – Welbury Spar (S) – Fin
Spring Regatta Sat, Mar 12 Sun, Mar 13 10:30 A 5 SISC Course(s) TBD at Skippers’ meeting
Southern Straits Fri, Mar 25 Sun, Mar 27 WVYC
Round Prevost Sun, Mar 27 10:30 17:00 A 6 KC SISC 13.1 St – Prevost Island  – FinP or S course TBD at Skippers’ meeting
Western Regional IOM Championships Sat, Apr 2 Sun, Apr 3 IOM Beaver Lake, CanAm, Coast Series
Patos Island Sat, Apr 9 Sun, Apr 10 VIRS SNSYC
Great Ocean Race Sat, Apr 16 IOM Protection Island, Nanaimo
Port Alberni IOM Sun, Apr 17 IOM Coast Series
Bas Cobanli Memorial Sun, Apr 17 10:30 A 7 SISC Course TBD at Skippers’ meeting
THRASH Sat, Apr 23 Sun, Apr 24 VIRS RVicYC
Cow Cup Sat, Apr 30 Sun, May 1 IOM Seattle Model Yacht Club (Coulon Park)
Sail Past Race Sun, May 1 13:00 NFS SISC Sail Past at 11 am. Course TBD at Skippers’ meeting after lunch in the Club house
Thetis Island Sat, May 7 Sun, May 8 VIRS LYC
Round Saltspring Fri, May 20 Sun, May 22 10:00 10:0 B 2 KCVIRS SISC 42 Circumnavigation of Saltspring Island (direction determined by Race Officer)
Swiftsure Sat, May 28 Mon, May 30 VIRS RVicYC
Wednesday Night Jun I Wed, Jun 1 17:00 B 4 SISC Course TBD at Skippers’ meeting
Canadian IOM Nationals Sat, Jun 4 Sun, Jun 5 IOM Canadian National Championships, SISC
Race Around Lasqueti Sat, Jun 4 Sun, Jun 5 VIRS SCYC
RNSA Single-Handed Sat, Jun 4 Sun, Jun 5 FCYC Pt. Grey – Bowen Is. – Snake Is. – TSB – Pt. Grey
Wednesday Night Jun II Wed, Jun 8 17:00 B 4 SISC Course TBD at Skippers’ meeting
CFSA Summer Solstice Sat, Jun 11 Sun, Jun 12 VIRS CFSA
McMillan Trophy Sun, Jun 12 10:30 16:00 B 3 SISC 10.6 St – Batt Rock (P) – Ben Mohr Rock (P) – Fin
Wednesday Night Jun III Wed, Jun 15 17:00 B 4 SISC Course TBD at Skippers’ meeting
Moresby-Portland Sun, Jun 19 10:30 23:30 B 1 KC SISC 26.2 St – both Islands  and Celia Reef (P or S determined by Race Committee) – Fin
Wednesday Night Jun IV Wed, Jun 22 17:00 B 4 SISC Course TBD at Skippers’ meeting
Captain Passage Sun, Jun 26 10:30 15:30 RH B 5 SISC 9.5 St – Batt Rk. (P) – U62 (P) – Welbury Spar (P) – Batt Rk.(S) – Fin
Wednesday Night Jun V Wed, Jun 29 17:00 B 4 SISC Course TBD at Skippers’ meeting
SIN Regatta Fri, Jul 1 Sun, Jul 3 VIRS NYC
Wednesday Night Jul I Wed, Jul 6 17:00 B 6 SISC Course TBD at Skippers’ meeting
vendeeSaltspring Fri, Jul 8 Sun, Jul 10 SISC Single or Double Handed, Two-stage circumnavigation of Saltspring Island (Leg 1 = SISC to MBYC)
Wednesday Night Jul II Wed, Jul 13 17:00 B 6 SISC Course TBD at Skippers’ meeting
Wednesday Night Jul III Wed, Jul 20 17:00 B 6 SISC Course TBD at Skippers’ meeting
Jack & Jill Sun, Jul 24 10:30 NFS SISC Course TBD at Skippers’ meeting
Wednesday Night Jul IV Wed, Jul 27 17:00 B 6 SISC Course TBD at Skippers’ meeting
Cow Bay Regatta Sat, Jul 30 Sun, Jul 31 VIRS CBYC
Wednesday Night Aug I Wed, Aug 3 17:00 C 1 SISC Course TBD at Skippers’ meeting
SOAR Fri, Aug 5 Sun, Aug 7 VARC SYC Howe Sound, Squamish Yacht Club
Wednesday Night Aug II Wed, Aug 10 17:00 C 1 SISC Course TBD at Skippers’ meeting
Wednesday Night Aug III Wed, Aug 17 17:00 C 1 SISC Course TBD at Skippers’ meeting
“Moo” Regatta Sat, Aug 20 IOM Lake Cowichan
Wednesday Night Aug IV Wed, Aug 24 17:00 C 1 SISC Course TBD at Skippers’ meeting
Montague Harbour Sun, Aug 28 10:30 17:30 C 2 KC SISC 14.4 St – Julia, Parker, Sphinx Islands (P) – Fin
Final Wednesday Night Aug V Wed, Aug 31 17:00 C 1 SISC Course TBD at Skippers’ meeting
Maple Bay Regatta Sat, Sep 3 Sun, Sep 4 VIRS MBYC
Jack Langdon Trophy Sun, Sep 11 10:30 17:00 RH C 3 SISC 13 St – Batt Rock (P) – Ben Mohr (P) – Batt Rock (S) – Fin
Sidney North Saanich Regatta Sat, Sep 17 Sun, Sep 18 VIRS SNSYC
Night Race Sat, Sep 24 19:00 23:00 C 4 SISC 6 St – U62 (S) – U60 (S) – Fin
Prairie Regional Championship Sat, Sep 24 Sun, Sep 25 IOM Calgary
Thermopylae Regatta Sat, Oct 1 Sun, Oct 2 VIRS RVicYC
Round Pender Day 1 Sat, Oct 22 10:30 17:00 SH C 5 SISC 12.8 St – North Pender Is. (S) – Razor Pt
Round Pender Day 2 Sun, Oct 23 10:30 19:30 SH C 6 SISC 17.9 Razor Pt – South Pender Is (S) – Fin
RVicYC Coastal Cup Sun, Oct 16 IOM Oak Bay
Long Harbour Sun, Nov 6 10:30 15:00 C 7 SISC 8.8 St – Horda Shoals (P) – Long Harbour around Clamshell Island (S) – Horda Shoals (S) – Fin
All Club Boyz Cruze Fri, Nov 11 Sun, Nov 13 Various Clubs
Snowflake 1 Sun, Dec 4 10:30 SISC Course TBD at Skippers’ meeting
Snowflake 2 Sun, Dec 18 10:45 SISC Course TBD at Skippers’ meeting