SISC Certified as Clean Marine BC
Eco-Rated Marina

SISC-Clean-Marine-BC-signSaltspring Island Sailing Club has been certified by the Georgia Strait Alliance as the southern Gulf Islands’ first Clean Marine BC Eco-Rated boating facility. At our 2016 Opening Day ceremonies on Sunday, May 1st, Sailing Club Past Commodore Eric van Soeren (above centre), who spearheaded the application for this certification, raised the flag designating our Club as an Eco-Rated Marina. The Club’s own mini pipe and drum corps, Rod Macdonald (left) and Philippe Erdmer piped the Club Officers to the clubhouse for the celebration.

At right, Club member Julie van Soeren (left) and Fleet Captain Cruising Karen Laidlaw show off a welcome “sign of the times”.

All SISC Club members should take great pride in this achievement. In keeping with our Club Vision, we want to set a good example for the whole Gulf Islands community by taking environmental responsibility while enjoying our beautiful waters. (photos by Silk Questo).

Click here to read the Georgia Strait Alliance news release announcing Saltspring Island Sailing Club’s certification.


wheel-graphic racing-sked-icon rss16-logo-button
Calendar of Events 2016 Racing Calendar Round Saltspring 2016